1. Home
  2. Knowledge Base
  3. Users and roles

Users and roles

Users and their roles can be controlled through settings in the system. Only people who have been added as users and assigned a role can access the system.

Where can I manage users and roles?

Under Settings > Users and roles

User roles in the system

Members

Members have access to their home screen and things they have been made either accountable or responsibles of. They do not have access to other elements (e.g. processes, activities, systems, contracts) that they have not been assigned to. Furthermore they do not have access to settings and are not able to create new elements for drop-down menues that are controlled through settings. Members thus have editing rights for a limited scope of the datamapping but are limited in terms of creating new elements.

Validators

Validators have access to view all mappings in the system but do not have editing rights to them and furthermore they can not access settings to create new elements for drop-down menus etc. Validators only have access to the validator buttons in the system, which allows them to accept or reject certain fields in the system. The member role can be used as an audit function to validate weather the input in the fields is correct or not. If a validator rejects an input in a field the responsible and the accountable of the element will be notified by e-mail and on their home screen which will get them to re-visit their input. The validator role can both be assigned to someone internally from the organization or to any third-party e.g. an auditor or a lawyer.

Administrators

Administrators have access to everything in the system and can both edit, delete and create new elements wither through the main menu (to the left) or through settings (top right corner). Administrators are thus also the only user that can add new users and/or change existing user roles. In cases where mappings exist on both the client level and on partition levels administrators can be either local admins (partitions) or full admins (client admins). If an admin is added locally to a partition they will only be able to view, edit and delete elements on the partitions they are an admin to. Full admins (client admins) can view, edit and delete elements everywhere.

Add new users

Click on ‘+Invite new user’ to invite new users to the system. Insert the new users e-mail and chose their role in the system. Click on ‘Save’. Next fill out the name the user will appear as in the system, their phone number (optional) and chose teir authentication method. If Microsoft or Google is chosen user will be able to use single sign-on when they log-in. If Application is chosen they must log-in using their e-mail and chose a password upon first login. Last, chose the department the user should be linked to (optional). To finish, click on ‘Invite’ and an e-mail will be sent to the user just added.

Merge user

If a user leaves the organization or gets different responsibilities, you can to transfer all current assignments to another user by clicking on ‘Merged users’. From this view you can select the which user to transfer ownerships from/to and decide if the user who’s giving it’s ownerships should be deleted after the transfer.

Add DPO

Users can be assigned the role of the DPO (Data Protection Officer) by clicking on the ‘edit’ button (pencil icon) by the user name and selecting ‘DPO: Yes’. If a DPO is chosen it will appear automatically in the beginning of the art. 30 (ROPA) report. Admins can download the art. 30 in the report generator.

Lock user

User can be locked by sliding the locked bar to the right of their username. When a user is locked the bar turns red. A user should be locked if they should not have access to the system anymore, e.g. if they left the organization. If the user has been assigned any ownership ( as accountable or responsible) this will still appear in the system while they will still not be able to access the system. This can be helpful if a replacement is still being found.

Filter and delete users

Users can be deleted by clicking on the icon of the bin to the right of the user name. When you click on ‘Confirm’ the user is deleted from the system. All ownerships the user previously had will no longer contain the full username but only the beginning of the e-mail adress they where added with. The user will no longer have access to the system.

The full list of users can be filtered by user roles by clicking on the funnel icon in the top right corner.

Was this article helpful?

Need Support?

Can't find the answer you're looking for?
Contact Support